Walker Battles To Third Place Finish At SuperEnduro Round Two, Germany

Jonny Walker has earned himself a third place overall result at round two of the 2017 FIM SuperEnduro World Championship held in Riesa, Germany. Placing just one-point behind team-mate Alfredo Gomez at the end of an action-packed night of racing, Jonny showed good speed throughout each of the three finals. Working hard since the opening round of the series Jonny’s best result in Germany came in the reversed start order second final. Third in the night’s first main event, Jonny then placed just over five seconds behind eventual overall winner Colton Haaker in the second final. In the third and last final Jonny matched his race one result finishing third behind Haaker and Gomez. Less than two- and-a-half seconds separated the top three riders in the event’s closing race.

Round three of the 2017 FIM SuperEnduro World Championship takes place in Bilbao, Spain on March 4th. Jonny Walker: “I had a good night and really enjoyed the track here in Germany. My speed was good. I raced well. My starts just weren’t what I needed. It’s tough on all SuperEnduro tracks, but especially this one here in Germany. There’s one good line and it’s so, so difficult getting around riders. I learned at the first round that there’s a very fine line between pushing hard and pushing a little too hard and making mistakes. It was difficult – I knew I was a little faster than Gomez, but getting ahead of him was hard. Of course I was hoping for the win but I really enjoyed the racing and the track. I feel like I rode and raced better than I did in Poland. The more technical track suited me, it was a cool night of racing.” Results – SuperEnduro World Championship, Rnd 2 (overall)

1. Colton Haaker (Husqvarna) 63 points 2. Alfredo Gomez (KTM) 50 3. Jonny Walker (KTM) 49 4. Mario Roman (Sherco) 37 5. Pascal Rauchenecker (Husqvarna) 35 6. Eloi Salsench (Beta) 26…

SuperEnduro championship standings (after round 2) 1. Colton Haaker (Husqvarna) 117 points 2. Alfredo Gomez (KTM) 95 3. Jonny Walker (KTM) 93 4. Mario Roman (Sherco) 59 5. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) 58 6. Mike Brown (Husqvarna) 56

Photo Credit: Future 7 media