McCanney too hot for Helmsley!

After the very successful opening round of this year’s ACU British Timecard Enduro Championship taking place in Hampshire back in February, the series headed to the picturesque market town of Helmsley, North Yorkshire, for last weekend’s Putoline Yorkshire 2 Day Enduro.

Clerk of the course John Kerwin had drafted in the experience of Paul Edmondson & his Fast Eddy crew to assist in the design & set up the X-Country styled special test for the event. In addition to this John & his hard working Dirtbike Action club had set up a route that was challenging, technical & with the recent spell of dry weather & ground conditions bone dry, the event was set up to be another top quality round in this year’s series.

DAY 1 With weather conditions being warm & course conditions dry, it was set up to be another great day of action in all classes. By the end of lap1 it was Tom Sagar who was setting the pace early on to take an 8 second lead from series leader Danny McCanney, closely followed by Joe Wootton, Alex Snow & Jack Edmondson. Test 2 saw McCanney claw back 5 seconds from Sagar, while Wootton & Edmondson still on Sagar’s tail had to settle for 3rd & 4th. McCanney again took a win on test 3, but it was Wootton who took the win on the 1st of the back to back tests on the final lap. On the final test of the day Wootton going for another test win took a heavy tumble & was lucky to come away unscathed, from this point MCcanney was in total control for the class win. Sagar remained in 2nd spot come end of play, while Jack Edmondson took a well deserved 3rd place. Next up it was Alex Snow showing great consistency, Tom Ellwood produced a career best 5th overall only 5 seconds behind Snow. After his heavy fall on the final test Wotton rounded off the top 6 while youngster Daniel Mundell took home best E1 2 stroke in 7th with Scottsman Fraser Flockhart in 8th. In the hotly contested Expert class it was Aaron Gordon who took the well deserved win beating Max Ditchfield by 43 seconds. Another great performance saw Ben Murphy take 3rdplace from Richard Ely in 4th. Luke Flack had to settle for 5th a further 2 seconds down on Ely, while Harry Hillier Rees completed the top 6.