Hollis and Simmonds share Murray Bridge AORC wins

Sanders overcomes injury to maintain series lead at halfway point.

CDR Yamaha’s Chris Hollis and KTM Enduro Racing Team’s Tye Simmonds split the overall wins at Murray Bridge’s fifth and sixth rounds of the 2016 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC).

Hollis emerged for his first Outright victory of the season on Saturday in South Australia, winning from Simmonds and Lachlan Stanford (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team).

That also resulted in the E2 class victory for Hollis over Simmonds and Josh Green (Active8 Yamaha), while Stanford topped E3 over Beau Ralston (Acive8 Yamaha) and Daniel Sanders (KTM Enduro Racing Team). The E3 class was led by Jack Simpson (KTM) from Glenn Kearney (Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team) and Riley Graham (Yamaha).

Sunday’s action saw Simmonds rise for his first Outright win, joined on the podium by Stanford and Hollis – the same podium in different orders for the weekend.

Simmonds also won the E2 division this time around over Hollis and Tom McCormack (CDR Yamaha), in E3 it was Stanford with the double ahead of Sanders and Ralston, while E1 saw Simpson repeat from Kearney and Scott Keegan (Yamaha).

With Sanders still fifth Outright on both days, he carries a 14-point lead into rounds seven and eight on 23-24 July at Hedley in Victoria.

Image: John Pearson