Connect with us

British Enduro Championship

BEC Final Heads to the Natterjack

The ACU British Timecard Enduro Championship makes a welcome return to the Natterjack Enduro for the final round of this year’s excellent series.

The Putoline Natterjack 2 Day Enduro will take place this weekend and team REME have set a route including two special tests per lap on their legendary sandy based military camp at Longmoor near Borden. The special tests will be ridden and timed every lap; same tests will be used both days. Further details of route mileage and check times will be released at signing-on which will take place late Friday afternoon.

Team REME have gained sponsorship from Freestyle and for the cross test in the sandbowl and Michelin/Amped have kindly sponsored the event with rider numbers/backgrounds.

Series leader Danny McCanney goes into this round as clear favourite, but previous round winner Alex Snow, World Junior ace Jack Edmondon and Mr consistent Tom Sagar will all be hoping to snatch a win from McCanney. Also hoping for a win will be current World Enduro champion Steve Holcombe getting in some valid sand practice before his next world GP at Hawkstone. Others hoping to shine will be world GP regulars Joe Wootten, Dan Mundell, Josh Gotts, Alex Walton and New Zealand Enduro champion Hamish Macdonald. A few more names to look out for include Tom Ellwood, Daryl Bolter, Fraser Flockhart, Jay Thomas and motocross star Jonathan Petitt to name but a few.

In the highly competitive Experts class series leader Luke Flack will take some beating on his current form, but you can be assured Max Ditchield, Aaron Gordon and Richard Tucker will be hot on his heels.

In the Clubman class another close battle will commence between Lewis Ranger, Harry Houghton and Luke Thomas all capable of taking class wins on their day. Cole Elliot and Darren Kiff both consistent runners this year will be hoping for some good points to finish off the series strongly.

Nieve Holmes and Rosie Rowett go into this round hoping to take the Women’s championship, both up for winning the title over the course of the weekend.

Series leaders Andrew Edwards (Over 40’s) and Paul Davies (Over 50’s) will take some beating in their respective classes.

The start of the event is located at Griggs Green entrance (A3 entrance), Longmoor, Hampshire,
GU33 6EL.

Signing-on/Machine Examination will take place on Friday 7th September between 3pm – 7pm.

Photo Credits: Luke Evans / Garry Barnes

More in British Enduro Championship